$4 Tee + $1 Dollar Store Towel = Fabulous Anthro-inspired Shirt!!

20 Aug

Here’s a little project I made the other night. Do you have any Charlotte Russe stores near you? I was in ours and found some great, really basic tees for $4. I really liked the neckline and weight of the fabric. I brought them home and I had this picture of a Anthropologie “Tutu” shirt that I had printed off awhile ago to see if I could recreate.

Tutu Tank�-�Anthropologie - photo

 I also had a Dollar Store Flour Sack Tea Towel that I bought thinking I would stencil something cute on it. So I did a little experimenting and created my own version of the Tutu Shirt. And for $5 — I couldn’t be more pleased!

If you would like to make one, here is what I did:

Supplies:
Round-neck Tee Shirt
Dollar Store Flour Sack Tea Cloth or some lightweight cotton material (28″ x 28″) — You may need 2 -depending on how big your shirt is and how many ruffles you need to make.
Sewing Machine (this is a beginning sewing project – if I can do it, so can you!)
Thread
Pins
Scissors

Instructions:

  • Print off a copy of the “Tutu” shirt so you can really see what it looks like. The ruffles go around the neckline and down at an angle on the left side of the shirt. Plus, the top layer of ruffles are shorter than the other layers. 
  • Cut strips of your cloth or tea towel. The first ruffle I cut at 3.5 inches wide by 28 inches long – which is the length of the tea towel.
  • Cut the rest of the strips 5 inches in width. 
  • You want to sew each of the edges of the strips so there is no fraying. Use a small stitch and fold the edges under about 1/4 inch. You can also iron the edges if you want to be very precise. I just eyeballed it and since you are ruffling the material, you don’t have to be perfectly precise – which is just the way I like it!!
  • Once all the edges are folded under and sewed, you want to put a larger stitch down the top of one side of all of the strips so you can ruffle the material. I sewed this stitch right under the previous stitch at the top — do not backstitch this stitch because you want to be able to pull it.
  • Now ruffle up your strips. Take the thread at one end of the stitch you just made, and pull on it. You should be able to push the material down and the thread will keep getting longer as the material gets shorter and the material ruffles.
  • You can always adjust the length of the ruffles once you get them on your shirt. 
  • Start with the top ruffle around the neck. Start the ruffle up at the shoulder just like the picture. Run the ruffle around the neckline and angle it down to end just at the seam of the other side of the shirt about 1/3 of the way down the shirt. Pin the ruffle in place.
  • Now do the same thing right under that ruffle. You can flip the upper ruffle out of the way. You want to make sure that the underneath ruffle covers the top of the bottom ruffle.
  • Keep going until you get to the end of the shirt.
  • At the very top of the left hand side are two layers of little ruffles. Use any leftover material to make these.
  •  When I was finished, the kind of stiff flour sack material was a little too poufy for me, so I tacked down each of the layers with my machine. I tacked each layer down about 4 times across each ruffle. This made me feel less like a confectionery. If you use thinner material that lays down better, you will not need to tack anything down.
And you are done! 
Now you have a Anthro-worthy shirt for $5 instead of the $68!!

XOXO
I am linking up to these great parties:

giveawaysLife as Lori

HookingupwithHoHShow and Tell Green

The Girl CreativeThe DIY Show OffMakingSumo's Sweet Stuff Birthday Wedding cakes crafts parties
CreativeShareWednesdays 
http://www.thethriftyhome.com
UndertheTableandDreaming

The Girl Creative ;Birthday Wedding cakes crafts partiesAll Thingz Related

Leave a Reply

